Four papers on Women Philosophers at the Atlantic Canada Seminar in Early Modern Philosophy

The Atlantic Canada Seminar in Early Modern Philosophy has two papers on Sophie de Grouchy, one on Anne Conway and one on Mary Shepherd. Thanks Eric Schliesser for pointing this out.

Programme for the Atlantic Canada Seminar in Early Modern Philosophy, 2021

Via Zoom: July 07 – 09, 2021.

Hosted by the Philosophy Department, Dalhousie University

Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Those interested in joining the Zoom meeting should contact Tom Vinci: vinci@dal.ca

Wednesday, July 07. 

10:00 am Eastern Standard Time (EST)/ 11:00 am Atlantic Standard Time (AST).  Eve-Lyne Perron. (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)  “Leibniz on animals’ awareness of unified objects: for or against a Cartesian, mechanistic approach?”

11:30 am EST/12:30 pm AST. Manuel Fasko (University of Basel), “ ‘The complicate being self’ – Mary Shepherd’s notion of the ‘self’ and the problem of individuating minds.”

1:00 pm EST/2:00 pm AST. Lunch break

1:30 pm EST/2:30 pm AST.  David Scott. (University of Victoria, Canada) “Ways of Talking about the Cartesian Will.”

3:00 pm EST/4:00 pm AST. Fabio Malfara. (The University of Western Ontario). “Cartesian Dualism and the Ens Per Se: Desgabets on the Substantial Union.”

Thursday, July 08.

10:00 am EST/11:00 am AST.  Todd De Rose. (The Ohio State University)

 “Natural Causes and Berkeley’s Divine Language Hypothesis”.

11:30 am EST/12:30 pm AST. Tom Holden. (University of California, Santa Barbara)  “The Meaning of Philo’s Reversal” 

1:00 pm EST/2:00 pm AST. Lunch break.

1:30 pm EST/2:30 pm AST. James Messina. (University of Wisconsin-Madison) “Look Ma, No Hands!: The Evolution of Kant’s Theory of Space Before Incongruent Counterparts.”

3:00 pm EST/4:00 pm AST. Curtis Sommerlatte (Florida State University)

“Productive Imagination and Abstract General Images: Tetens on the Formative Fictive Power’s Contribution to Human Cognition.”

Friday, July 09.

10:00 am EST/11:00 am AST. Anna Markwart (Nicolaus Copernicus University, Toruń, Poland) “Adam Smith and Sophie de Grouchy on love and children.”

11:30 am EST/12:30 pm AST. Getty L. Lustila. (Northeastern University) “Remorse and Moral Conflict in Sophie de Grouchy’s Letters on Sympathy”

1:00 pm EST/2:00 pm AST. Lunch break.

1:30 pm EST/2:30 pm AST.  (Presented in conjunction with the Friday Colloquium of the Philosophy Department of Dalhousie University.) Julia Jorati. (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) “Capitein on Natural Slavery and Human Equality.” 

3:00 pm EST/4:00 pm AST. Hope Sample. (Grand Valley State University)

“Anne Conway on Divine and Creaturely Freedom”

Contact Information.

Department of Philosophy: 902 494 3811 (office); email: dalphil@dal.ca

Organizer (Tom Vinci): 902 880 8919 (cell); 506 352 3275 (home); email: vinci@dal.ca

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s